Colorado's Public Health System

CO Public Health Statutes & Rules


C.R.S. is an abbreviation for Colorado Revised Statutes. The laws in the Colorado Revised Statutes are passed by the Colorado General Assembly, which consists of the Colorado House of Representatives and the Colorado Senate. 

The Colorado Constitution places the power to make laws with the state legislature, the Colorado General Assembly. The General Assembly is comprised of 100 elected officials—65 Representatives and 35 Senators. The legislature’s power to make laws is exercised through the process of considering and adopting bills. A bill generally either creates new law, amends existing law, or repeals existing law. The C.R.S. are made available for public use by the Committee on Legal Services of the Colorado General Assembly through LexisNexis.

Local Board of Health requirements: Local Board of Health Pocket Guide

The State Board of Health (SBoH) is composed of 9 members.  The composition of the board is governed by statute, Section 25-1-103, C.R.S. The statute requires a representative from each congressional district (noted below member names) and two at-large members. One member must also be a county commissioner. No more than five members from a single political party participate on the board. The executive director of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment may serve as an ex officio member.

Relevant Code of Colorado Regulations are posted online by the Colorado Secretary of State. 

A few that the Office of Public Health Practice, Planning, and Local Partnerships uses often are:

Academic Health Department (AHD)


The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) and the Colorado School of Public Health (ColoradoSPH) have formalized an agreement to strengthen CDPHE as an Academic Health Department. We have formalized this agreement to strengthen and enhance an existing, mutually beneficial relationship between CDPHE and ColoradoSPH. The objective of this formal agreement is to enhance bidirectional collaboration on educational programs for students, training for public health workers, fostering collaborative research, and creating opportunities for hands-on, quality public health experience for students. In addition, given that CDPHE and ColoradoSPH each represent a unique resource, this agreement is intended to facilitate technical assistance and consultation that both organizations can provide to each other.

Reach out to us at OPHP@state.co.us for more information!

A joint advisory committee made up of staff from CDPHE and ColoradoSPH have begun meeting to plan and strategize mutually beneficial activities. Members of the advisory committee are:

Matt Jackson (Co-Lead- CDPHE)Senior Public Health Systems and Liaison ProfessionalCDPHE
Michele Shimomura Director of Office of Public Health Practice, Planning, & Local PartnershipsCDPHE
Dr. Ned Calonge   Chief Medical Officer/Colorado SPH Associate Dean for Public Health PracticeCDPHE
Dr. Rachel HerlihyDisease Control and Environmental Epidemiology Division DirectorCDPHE
Daniel McKennaHuman Resources SpecialistCDPHE
Carrie CortiglioDivision Director- Prevention Services DivisionCDPHE
Ned Calonge (Co-Lead- ColoradoSPH)Associate Dean for Public Health Practice/CDPHE Chief Medical OfficerColoradoSPH
Katherine BrumfieldCareer Services ManagerColoradoSPH
Mary DingerPractice-Based Learning Concentration DirectorColoradoSPH
Elaine Scallan WalterRocky Mountain Public Health Training Center DirectorColoradoSPH
Nicole TuittSelected ColoradoSPH faculty representativeColoradoSPH
Neeloofar SoleimanpourPublic Health Practice and Research CoordinatorColoradoSPH

Local Public Health Agency Directors & Structure